About the course

This qualification provides a pathway to work in various hospitality settings, such as restaurants, hotels, motels, catering operations, clubs, pubs, cafés, and coffee shops.

This qualification reflects the role of individuals who have a defined and limited range of hospitality operational skills and basic industry knowledge. They are involved in mainly routine and repetitive tasks and work under direct supervision.

Possible job titles include:

  • Bar attendant
  • Café attendant
  • Catering assistant
  • Food and beverage attendant
  • Front office assistant
  • Porter
  • Room attendant

What needs to be completed

12 units must be completed

12 units of competence are required to complete this qualification within the specific requirements as set out below:

  • 6 core units
  • 6 elective units, consisting of:
    • 1 unit from Group A
    • 3 units from Group B
    • 2 units from Group B, elsewhere in SIT Training Package, or any other current Training Package or accredited course.

The selection of electives must be guided by the job outcome sought, local industry requirements and the complexity of skills appropriate to the AQF level of this qualification.

How do I study?

Flexible study mode will allow you to complete this qualification at your own pace

Option One: One-on-One Training – In this study mode, you can have the training as an individual. This allows you to have the training delivered at your own pace in the timeframe that suits you. We come to you and deliver training that fits into your work/life requirements. All the assessments are completed at a pace that suits your needs.

  • Delivery mode: Employment based
  • Delivery method: Blended
    • On-the-job training
    • Off-the-job training
    • Online
    • Face to Face

Option Two: Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)
This option is suitable for an existing employee or who have had lots of experience in the Hospitality industry in the past.

Recognition of Prior Learning means that you don’t require training. Instead, you just need to be assessed on each unit. You will need to draw on all your past experiences so that you can demonstrate that you have already acquired the knowledge and skills. Though, you will be required to demonstrate the required skills for each unit of competencies to gather the evidence.You may be eligible for some units through the RPL process while other units may require some training.