About the course

This qualification provides a pathway to work in various catering settings, such as hospitals and aged care facilities, sporting and entertainment venues, hotel banqueting departments, cook–chill production kitchens, and mobile catering businesses of varying size.

This qualification reflects the role of individuals working in catering operations who use a range of cookery skills and sound knowledge of kitchen operations to prepare food items. Using discretion and judgement, they work with some independence and under limited supervision using plans, policies and procedures to guide work activities.

This qualification does not provide the skills required by commercial cooks, which are covered in SIT30816 Certificate III in Commercial Cookery

Possible job titles include:

  • Catering assistant
  • Cook
  • Food service assistant

What needs to be completed

21 units must be completed

21 units must be completed:

  • 12 core units
  • 9 elective units, consisting of:
    • 1 unit from Group A
    • 3 units from Group A or Group B and
    • 5 units from Group B, Group C, and elsewhere in SIT Training Package, or any other current Training Package or accredited course

The selection of electives must be guided by the job outcome sought, local industry requirements and the complexity of skills appropriate to the AQF level of this qualification.

How do I study?

Flexible study mode will allow you to complete this qualification at your own pace

Option One: One-on-One Training – In this study mode, you can have the training as an individual. This allows you to have the training delivered at your own pace in the timeframe that suits you. We come to you and deliver training that fits into your work/life requirements. All the assessments are completed at a pace that suits your needs.

  • Delivery mode: Employment based
  • Delivery method: Blended
    • On-the-job training
    • Off-the-job training
    • Online
    • Face to Face

Option Two: Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL)
This option is suitable for an existing employee or who have had lots of experience in the Hospitality industry in the past.

Recognition of Prior Learning means that you don’t require training. Instead, you just need to be assessed on each unit. You will need to draw on all your past experiences so that you can demonstrate that you have already acquired the knowledge and skills. Though, you will be required to demonstrate the required skills for each unit of competencies to gather the evidence.You may be eligible for some units through the RPL process while other units may require some training.